Snooker League 2018 / 2019

Congratulations to this year's winners: Team B

  • David Shepherd
  • John Drinkwater
  • Mark Tiplady
  • Eugene O'Callaghan
  • John Schofield
  • Roland Willot

Thank you for supporting the league - the snooker committee has made the draw and so please find attached details of this years teams and fixture dates for your diary.

This years captains are as follows:

  • Keith Madden
  • David Shepherd
  • Stefan Sobota 
  • Andrew Ogden
  • Don Connor
  • Bernard Garrity

We have continued with the pattern of the last couple of years of doubling up the fixtures in January by playing on Wednesdays as well as Thursdays. This allows us to conclude the season by mid March before the clocks go forward. We have ensured no team has more than two Wednesday night matches nor play on two consecutive nights in the same week.

Please make a note of the date of the Final Match on Thursday 14 March 2018, when we will finish the season with the traditional hot pot supper and prize presentation. 

Start Time:
As usual each match will start at 7:30pm prompt and we are keen to ensure that the first two matches each night are able to start at this time.

Can we please ask for your support in doing your utmost to arrive on time so we can get the matches started. Where this is not possible can you please alert your captain in advance and we will do what we can to accommodate.

Entry Fees:
We have been able to keep entry fees the same at £10 for each team member for the season and £1 per game played for reserves. This helps us cover the cost of the end of season hot pot supper and prizes for the winning team. Could team members please pay your £10 to your team Captain on the night of your first game and reserves pay your £1 to the team Captain you are playing for as and when you play. 

The committee has met and following hours of debate we have reviewed each players handicap; as ever closely scrutinising last years performances, results and vital statistics.

Your new handicap can be found on the attached and we look forward to our finely tuned handicap system creating further black ball drama and another closely fought chase for the title!

This year we are delighted to welcome new players: Eugene O'Callaghan on Team D and Bert Foulds on Team E. In respect of this fresh new talent, each will start with a handicap of scratch and the committee reserves the right to amend their handicaps based on early season performances.

Welcome, Eugene and Bert; we hope you enjoy the league!! Also a warm welcome back to Bernard Armitage, Martin Ross and David Mantel onto the reserves list.

Good luck to all the teams on what will no doubt be another highly competitive season. As per last year we will endeavour to post the latest results, league tables and individual stats on the website and snooker notice board, as soon as possible after each match. 

We look forward to seeing you all over the coming weeks and months! 

Match Order:

*** FINAL MATCH - Thursday 14th March 2018 ~ Followed by Presentation & Hot Pot Supper ***